johnlennon_yokoono_book

I’m back!  After 5 days relaxing at the beach and camping, I am stoked to be back on the blog and working on the boutique!  Hope you are enjoying your summer too!  So while I was in New England, I found this lovely book in a thrift store; the complete transcript of Playboy magazine’s interview with John and Yoko in 1980, few weeks before John was shot in NY.   This book is very interesting for multiple reasons, but one being that John and Yoko had been away from the public for 5 years and had not given an interview in more time than that, so they had lots to say, and not much about The Beatles but more about there views on life and society. I am halfway through the book right now and thought I could share some interesting quotes I have read so far, keeping in mind that these thoughts are 30 years old.

Je suis de retour!  Après 5 jours de relaxation et camping à la plage, je suis vraiment motivée du retour sur le blog et au boulot!  J’espère que vous apprécié votre été autant que nous!  J’ai trouvé, pendant mon séjour en Nouvelle-Angleterre, un livre contenant la transcription complète de l’entrevue du magasine Playboy avec John et Yoko qui a eu lieu pendant les semaines précédant l’assassinat de John à NYC.  Ce manuscript est vraiment très intéressant et ce pour plusieurs raisons, l’une étant que le couple s’était reclu des yeux du public pendant plus de 5 ans (depuis la naissance de leur fils Sean) et qu’ils n’avaient pas donné d’entrevue depuis encore plus longtemps.  Ils avaient donc beaucoup de choses à partager, mais très peu à propos des Beatles, mais d’avantages d’idées sur la vie et la société.  Je suis à mi-chemin dans la lecture du livre et j’ai pensé mettre ici quelques sitations que j’ai apprécié lire jusqu’à présent, gardant en tête que ces idées ont déjà 30 ans aujourd’hui.

Yoko about men and women’s role in society and how they inversed their roles:

johnlennon_yokoono_book

johnlennon_yokoono_book

Yoko on Pop Music:

johnlennon_yokoono_bookjohnlennon_yokoono_book

John on his view of the Beatles’ music, 10 years later:

johnlennon_yokoono_bookjohnlennon_yokoono_book

johnlennon_yokoono_book

John on how the situation in the music industry relates to the car industry (still very acurate, even today!)

johnlennon_yokoono_book

voilà, more reading in the next days! weeee!!!!

.

